Why do I run?

(On behalf of our ex-Captain, Kelvin Ling)

Why do I run?

Simple! To lose weight! For those who are not aware, I was rather plump before I took up running and I’ve a nickname (given to me by my sec school and army friends), Ah Pui(Fat Guy). Well, given the sports that I was involved in before taking up running, I needed to be ‘big’ and ‘strong’. During my pre-poly days, I was a shot-putter and held several records in the inter-primary school and my secondary school competitions.( Jing Yang, bring it on man! Haha, just kidding. J). I was also in the basketball team and I was so passionate with the sport that my dream at that time was to be the first Singaporean to be in the NBA playing alongside MJ( Michael Jordan).

After enrolling into Singapore Polytechnic, I decided to try out a new sport after the doctor told me to not engage in contact sports to give my weak ankles a good rest. Guess what my new sport is? Bodybuilding? Chess? Running? Nah, I took up bowling as my new love. Yes, bowling! The sport which many say is literally throwing money into the lonkang(drain).  Bowling is a sport that requires 100% concentration, from the moment you step up to get your ball, to the moment when you about to release the ball and just before the ball hits the pins. Distracted at any point of time, there goes your strike…. Sounds like a difficult sport to pick up? I thought so too until I found my very own secret of staying 100% focused… It is to eat and eat while waiting for your turn! That was also why my weight ballooned to a crazy 92kg! Even though I was doing well in bowling, I wasn’t happy. I was low on self-esteem and always felt that people are having fun of me. I decided that that the only solution was to SILM down!

Running then became my new love. I was off to a good start after running 4 hrs 12mins for my first marathon and I managed to run 75.6km in the MR25 Ultramarathon in the following year. From these races, I’ve learnt that there will be times when you don’t feel good, when you meet the ‘wall’ that seems impossible to clear, when you thought that you have already given it all but if you preserve and believe in yourself, you have not run your race in vain or have any regrets in your life.

“When things go wrong, as they sometimes will,
When the road you’re trudging seems all uphill,
When the funds are low and when the debts are high,
And when you want to smile, but you have to sigh,
Rest, if you must. But don’t you quit.

 Success is failure turned inside out,
You can never tell how close you are,
It may be near when it seems afar.
So stick to the fight when you’re the hardest hit
It’s when things go wrong that you must not quit.”

 

Regards,
Kelvin Ling
NUS X-Country Captain(AY 08/09)

Leave a Reply

